You are not logged in.
Lost Password?


Register To Post



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic

#1
Virtual Boy AC adaptor
Posted on: 2003/8/10 14:20
Newbie
Joined 2003/8/10
2 Posts
Long Time User (15 Years)
Hi, I wonder if anyone here can help me?

I live in the UK and have a US Virtual Boy. I recently got hold of a AC Adaptor Tap, now all i need is the AC Adaptor itself.
I've heard the AC adaptor is 10v though i've noticed a number of websites say you can use the SNES adaptor, which i think is 9v.

Can i use a US SNES or NES AC adaptor to power the VB (with a step-down convetor), or alternatively, can i use my 9v adaptor which came with my UK SNES and NES?

All help would be appreciated,

Thanks
Top

#2
Re: Virtual Boy AC adaptor
Posted on: 2003/8/10 14:36
Administrator
Joined 2000/1/8
Germany
2515 Posts
Highscore Top10Highscore Top ScoreCoder#1 PosterHOTY09 1stLong Time User (15 Years) App Coder90+ Game Ratings
Hey tanooki!

The Virtual Boy AC Adapter is exactly the same as the SNES one, but I think you have to use a US one, because others won't fit. But give it a try with your UK Adapter anyway, maybe they have different plugs than the german ones which don't fit.
(On a side note, DrAetzn said that his german SNES Adapter did fit, but mine doesn't )

KR155E
Top

#3
Re: Virtual Boy AC adaptor
Posted on: 2003/8/10 21:42
PVB Staff
Joined 2000/1/8
Germany
139 Posts
Long Time User (15 Years) 20+ Game Ratings
yeah, really weird. both the same pal version and both different pins..

i would also try with the uk one tanooki, if it does not fit you will get the right one for about 2 dollars on ebay.com
Top

#4
Re: Virtual Boy AC adaptor
Posted on: 2003/8/11 21:44
Newbie
Joined 2003/8/10
2 Posts
Long Time User (15 Years)
Thanks KR155E and DrAetzn.
I've checked it out and the plug from my PAL SNES seems to fit into the connector on the VB AC Adaptor Tap. I have yet to plug it in to the mains though.
I take it from your reply DrAetzn, that you are using a PAL SNES mains adaptor to power your Virtual Boy? Do you encounter any problems with this?

Tanooki
Top

#5
Re: Virtual Boy AC adaptor
Posted on: 2003/8/11 22:56
PVB Staff
Joined 2000/1/8
Germany
139 Posts
Long Time User (15 Years) 20+ Game Ratings
no, never had any problems. i also use a pal acadapter on my jap. n64.. it works! dont ask me why but it works.
Top

#6
Re: Virtual Boy AC adaptor
Posted on: 2003/8/31 16:55
Virtual Freak
Joined 2003/8/31
Canada
51 Posts
Long Time User (15 Years)
Just be carefull with the voltage eh? don't frie your system like I almost did with my Super Famicom. I'll never make that mistake twice. :D
Top

 Top   Previous Topic   Next Topic


Register To Post