You are not logged in.
Lost Password?


Register To Post



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic

#1
Capacitor replacement.
Posted on: 3/9 4:22
VB Gamer
Joined 2/16
33 Posts
Just as preventative maintenance I went ahead and replaced all the capacitors in my good VB with a kit from console 5. Now the image isn't as good as it use to be but both sides are bad in exactly the same way. I'm going to try swapping VUE-MAI-01 with one from another unit to see if that's where the problem is. I should know by tomorrow.
Top

#2
Re: Capacitor replacement.
Posted on: 3/9 16:08
Nintendoid!
Joined 2016/7/21
127 Posts
Long Time User (2 Years)
Capacitor polarity is important. Are you sure you installed them correctly? Also make sure that you used the correct values - capacity is important, but you can match or exceed the rated voltage with no problems.

Also, describe what problems you are experiencing. Use pictures if possible.
Top

#3
Re: Capacitor replacement.
Posted on: 3/10 3:24
VB Gamer
Joined 2/16
33 Posts
I'll try to get pictures,

Basically there are lines that only show up in the sprites. They don't go all the way across the screen.

I've tried swapping displays and there was no change. I tried swapping the motherboard and that also didn't improve anything. Motherboard caps are all fine as far as I can tell. All are in spec, except the 1000 microfarad cap is now rated 16v instead of 10.

I'm worried that maybe they either sold me some bad caps, or one or more overheated while I soldered them in.
Top

#4
Re: Capacitor replacement.
Posted on: 3/10 4:16
Nintendoid!
Joined 2016/7/21
127 Posts
Long Time User (2 Years)
The lines show up on ALL sprites on screen, or just some?
Top

#5
Re: Capacitor replacement.
Posted on: 3/10 11:25
VB Gamer
Joined 2/16
33 Posts
All. I've tried getting pictures, but my Olympus doesn't know how to focus on a vibrating mirror.

Essentially some lines of the image are extra bright in one eye, and less bright in the other. I suppose I should also mention that one of the solder pads on one cap next to one ribbon connectors may have been slightly lifted which might also be a problem.

I'll post the best images I have as soon as I can.
Top

#6
Re: Capacitor replacement.
Posted on: 3/10 14:57
VB Gamer
Joined 2/16
33 Posts
Here's pictures

Attach file:



jpg  P3100024.JPG (2,865.11 KB)
14957_5c8517bd17b8c.jpg 4608X3072 px

jpg  P3100025.JPG (2,893.86 KB)
14957_5c8517ceb3ee0.jpg 4608X3072 px
Top

#7
Re: Capacitor replacement.
Posted on: 3/10 15:03
Nintendoid!
Joined 2016/7/21
127 Posts
Long Time User (2 Years)
Quote:

SpectreVR wrote:
Here's pictures


Okay, what it appears you have there is one, possibly two data lines not transmitting. I'm less inclined to believe that this is related to a capacitor and more inclined to think that there is a short or broken connection on your LED cable. But you said you've swapped displays...hmm.

It occurs to me to wonder - do the lines seem to be limited to a specific 'depth'? Or is it just generally over sprites?
Top

 Top   Previous Topic   Next Topic


Register To Post