You are not logged in.
Lost Password?


Register To Post



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic

#11
Re: vb padder not working
Posted on: 2018/11/29 7:36
VB Gamer
Joined 2018/5/21
23 Posts
Long Time User (1 Year)
The Padder does not seem to be working on my PC with raw dumped ROM's. I've quickly browsed through the forums and no easy fix seems to work. Can't get it to work for either an existing cart or the BH!Proto i have

With padromvb padromvb.exe the file size changes but still wont load properly onto FB+. Goes to 25% and stops.

File size is 16348KB

With Padder.win-x64 Padder.exe I get nothing. Through Command Prompt I get an error (photo attached)

Attach file:



png  PadderError.png (30.25 KB)
14738_5bff88bee72b2.png 1152X720 px
Top

#12
Re: vb padder not working
Posted on: 2018/11/29 11:00
Administrator
Joined 2000/1/8
Germany
2509 Posts
Highscore Top10Highscore Top ScoreCoder#1 PosterHOTY09 1stLong Time User (15 Years) App Coder90+ Game Ratings
Wait, the dumped ROM is over 16 MB? It's heavily overdumped then, the ROM should be 2 MB if it's Bound High.

2 MB would also be the right size to flash to the FlashBoy.

Try this tool to shrink the ROM: https://www.planetvb.com/modules/tech/?sec=tools&pid=shrinkvb

Do the dumped ROMs work on an emulator?
Top

#13
Re: vb padder not working
Posted on: 2018/11/30 3:22
VB Gamer
Joined 2018/5/21
23 Posts
Long Time User (1 Year)
Figured it out myself, I was using the Retrode Dumper wrong! I hadn't noticed the slot selector buttons on the side last night!


Tried again today and success! File pulled at 2048KB, no need to pad!


Works perfectly on FlashBoy+

Works perfectly on VBJin emulator
Top

#14
Re: vb padder not working
Posted on: 2/27 22:52
Newbie
Joined 2/27
2 Posts
I've done everything mentioned in this topic but still cannot get this Padder application to work. I downloaded the Padder.win-x64 from this site. I've used my Flashboy Plus in the past, so I know the application must have worked previously. It's been a few years since I've used my Flashboy Plus, though. Figured I'd try in again after hearing about the Innsmouth Mansion English Translation. Downloaded the Innsmouth game via this site, unzipped it, dragged it over to the Padder.exe. Screen has a quick flash with a black box. No patched exe appears. Tried copying the game into the Padder folder even, but same result. I've tried the app on my Windows 10 Surface 2 and my Windows 10 Pc with the same result. Innsmouth is 1024kb and remains unchanged, no second padded copy appears. I tried the app with other VB roms too with the same results.
Top

#15
Re: vb padder not working
Posted on: 2/27 23:59
VUE(xpert)
Joined 2012/12/4
417 Posts
CoderLong Time User (6 Years)
I posted a padded ROM in the release thread: link to post
Top

#16
Re: vb padder not working
Posted on: 2/28 4:06
Nintendoid!
Joined 2016/7/21
143 Posts
Long Time User (2 Years)
Quote:

Virtual Davey wrote:
I've done everything mentioned in this topic but still cannot get this Padder application to work. I downloaded the Padder.win-x64 from this site. I've used my Flashboy Plus in the past, so I know the application must have worked previously. It's been a few years since I've used my Flashboy Plus, though. Figured I'd try in again after hearing about the Innsmouth Mansion English Translation. Downloaded the Innsmouth game via this site, unzipped it, dragged it over to the Padder.exe. Screen has a quick flash with a black box. No patched exe appears. Tried copying the game into the Padder folder even, but same result. I've tried the app on my Windows 10 Surface 2 and my Windows 10 Pc with the same result. Innsmouth is 1024kb and remains unchanged, no second padded copy appears. I tried the app with other VB roms too with the same results.


You'll get better results with navigating to the Padder's folder in Command Prompt and running the padder from there.
Top

#17
Re: vb padder not working
Posted on: 2/28 16:12
Newbie
Joined 2/27
2 Posts
I tried using the other Padder located on this site, "VB ROM-image Padder". This one seems to work perfectly. I drag my rom to the padromvb.exe and it pads the rom to the proper size without issue. It does not make a padded copy of the rom, it just pads the rom. So you won't have 2 roms afterwards (one padded, one unpadded) like the other Padder (padder.win-x64).
Top

#18
Re: vb padder not working
Posted on: 3/1 2:31
Virtual Freak
Joined 1/27
USA
79 Posts
Thanks, I couldn't get that thing to work via commandline and was driving me mad. Same with the other two on the site.

I'll keep this around and use it as stuff crops up as people make nice new things and translations.
Top

#19
Re: vb padder not working
Posted on: 3/27 5:14
Newbie
Joined 3/27
USA
5 Posts
As a new Flashboy Plus owner, just adding this info here to help other newbies that come behind me.

I couldn’t get the “64” version of the Padder to work, so i used the one at the following link.

https://www.planetvb.com/modules/tech/ ... .php?sec=tools&pid=pad_vb

You take the VB rom file and drag and drop it into the PAD_VB.EXE program----Again, just pick up the ROM file and HOVER it over the EXE program, drop it, and it will copy and paste a “PAD” version of the ROM file into your folder (adds “pad” to the file name).

This is the one you need to flash onto the Flashboy Plus.

You may need to put the padding program into the folder with the ROM to get it to work. If its working, when you drop the ROM into the Padding EXE, you will see a black screen flash, then it just closes…but the file with the “PAD” extension now works. This is the file you will load into flashboy+ cartridge.

Found some help at this link: https://www.planetvb.com/modules/newbb ... ASC&type=&mode=0&start=10

Just open the loader (Flashboy EXE), select your (padded) ROM, drill down to the folder where the padded rom lives……. and click the "FLASH" button.

Finally, when using the Flashboy EXE program to flash the ROM....YOU NEED TO CHECK THE BOX NEXT TO THE NAME OF THE GAME YOU WANT TO FLASH. This will make the FLASH button light up, and away you go!
Top

 Top   Previous Topic   Next Topic


Register To Post