You are not logged in.
Lost Password?


Register To Post



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic

#31
Re: Bound High ROMs
Posted on: 2010/5/1 19:50
Nintendoid!
Joined 2004/5/28
215 Posts
Long Time User (15 Years)
Quote:

Richard schrieb:
Yup, it does have an embedded CRC list. The reason for this is historical; we decided long ago that we did not want people who hoard unreleased prototypes for their own private reasons to be able to use ViBE to emulate them.

As I recall we had one of our beta testers early on claiming to have a copy of Faceball which apparently didn't work, but he refused to provide us with traces (or indeed a loan of the ROM itself) which might have helped us fix it...


i like that way! ;)
Top

#32
Re: Bound High ROMs
Posted on: 2010/5/1 20:07
PVB Elite
Joined 2003/7/25
USA
1507 Posts
PVBCC 1stCoderContributor#3 PosterHOTY09 EntryLong Time User (15 Years) App CoderPVBCC 2010 EntryPVBCC 2013 Entry
Quote:

Fire-WSP wrote:
Quote:

Richard schrieb:
Yup, it does have an embedded CRC list. The reason for this is historical; we decided long ago that we did not want people who hoard unreleased prototypes for their own private reasons to be able to use ViBE to emulate them.

As I recall we had one of our beta testers early on claiming to have a copy of Faceball which apparently didn't work, but he refused to provide us with traces (or indeed a loan of the ROM itself) which might have helped us fix it...


i like that way! ;)


Except most people suffer by having to wait for a new release anytime a new ROM is available. It's easy enough to get around anyway, though I don't know how many people actually care (it took almost 3 weeks for anyone to notice that this didn't work on ViBE).

And it's not like someone who decides to horde a ROM is gonna change their mind so they can play it on some emulator, when they obviously could just play the game on the real system or one of the other emulators. But I understand it's the principle of it... or maybe "if I can't have it, nobody can"... either way, it's his emulator and he's free to do whatever he wants.

DogP
Top

#33
Re: Bound High ROMs
Posted on: 2010/5/1 20:21
Newbie
Joined 2009/8/11
Australia
6 Posts
10+ Game RatingsLong Time User (10 Years)
Oh, I forgot Faceball, which is out there somewhere, but which was released on other systems also. The link cable would have been cool, was it the only title confirmed to use it? I know there were plans VERY early on for Waterworld to use it as well, but they were tossed out, also VERY early on.
And theres a english prototype of Innsmouth, which I believe was bought by a guy who owns a great deal of very interesting stuff. No need to mention his name, not big into name dropping anyway. I think most people know who I'm referring to.

Just been playing more Bound High, that final boss is a bit of a bastard, isnt it?
Top

#34
Re: Bound High ROMs
Posted on: 2010/5/1 21:34
Nintendoid!
Joined 2004/5/28
215 Posts
Long Time User (15 Years)
@DogP
Vibe is for OSX anyway. I guess most people use a win emu and with Bootcamp or Virtualobox you can play Win emus on OSX so i dont see any problems.

about the hording and so on. Well i am no fan of it and i shared for example the Pinball with everybody.
Of course this does not mean that others need to do it like me but it would be nice to see for example faceball, dragonhopper or zero racers. I am sure this would boost the VB community :)
But thats up to the owners of the roms.
Top

#35
Re: Bound High ROMs
Posted on: 2010/5/2 6:38
Newbie
Joined 2010/5/1
Japan
1 Posts
Long Time User (9 Years)
I'm new to this forum and apologize for my English.

Wouldn't mind in to help trace through, too; so very excited to see some active work being done; I didn't realize anyone cared still, soo very happy ^^.

Sorry to be not use search function well, but is there a standard state dump we should all work on to coordinate effort on tracing perhaps?

It's a little tough to back track from where it's not displaying properly. I think the whole set up was done properly, but the queue is not active; it's hard to tell on the surface level, though.

Anyone with a head start care to share their breakpoint list of a few key fns?

Also, has anyone bothered to pare out the unrelated parts to make a slimmed down problem version? Might be helpful--there is a lot here.

Sorry if in wrong area.

Youmuin
用務員
Top

#36
Re: Bound High ROMs
Posted on: 2010/5/3 18:49
Newbie
Joined 2010/4/11
7 Posts
Long Time User (9 Years) App Coder
Quote:
Except most people suffer by having to wait for a new release anytime a new ROM is available.


Perhaps, though how often does that really happen in the Virtual Boy world?

As it was, I had a release out within hours of this being brought to my attention. There's no reason why I won't be able to do the same again if Faceball/etc show up.
Top

#37
Re: Bound High ROMs
Posted on: 2010/5/4 2:35
PVB Elite
Joined 2003/7/25
USA
1507 Posts
PVBCC 1stCoderContributor#3 PosterHOTY09 EntryLong Time User (15 Years) App CoderPVBCC 2010 EntryPVBCC 2013 Entry
Quote:

Richard wrote:
Quote:
Except most people suffer by having to wait for a new release anytime a new ROM is available.


Perhaps, though how often does that really happen in the Virtual Boy world?

As it was, I had a release out within hours of this being brought to my attention. There's no reason why I won't be able to do the same again if Faceball/etc show up.


I was actually referring more to homebrew... IIRC there's a size limit that's allowed (<64K?), but many homebrew games easily exceed that... and that seems silly to have to make a new release every time someone releases a new revision of a WIP homebrew. I'd expect that to occur a lot more often in the coming months with the competition happening again.

I don't think there's VB development tools for the Mac, so it's probably not hindering VB game development, but if anyone on a Mac wants to try a new game out, they'll need a new version (which would likely get annoying for you).

If you're really worried about it, what about hosting a key generator, where someone uploads a ROM to you and it returns a key, which is then typed into the emu?

BTW, do you have this same "protection" on any of your other emulators?

DogP
Top

#38
Re: Bound High ROMs
Posted on: 2010/5/5 9:19
Newbie
Joined 2010/4/11
7 Posts
Long Time User (9 Years) App Coder
No, ViBE is the only one that restricts file loading - as I said, it was done historically because of people hoarding prototypes.

I've just spotted that a good Bound High dump is out and I've added a CRC for that which will be in the next release. Before I upload though, how big do homebrew titles get these days? Would bumping the CRC-free limit to 256K be sufficient?
Top

#39
Re: Bound High ROMs
Posted on: 2010/5/5 10:04
PVB Elite
Joined 2010/1/5
Sweden
560 Posts
Long Time User (9 Years) Donator30+ Game Ratings
Well, it's not really a dump but a compilation from the original code.

Well, if it's for historical reasons - be sure never to change it... Make people run the emulators for PC instead - that will teach them!

It would be nice to see a similar feature in other emulators though, checking the CRC:s for known good dumps. That would help keep away hacked or faulty software.
Top

#40
Re: Bound High ROMs
Posted on: 2010/5/5 14:20
VUE(xpert)
Joined 2010/2/15
Netherlands
250 Posts
Long Time User (9 Years)
Instead of keeping away the hacked versions it could do the same ZSNES does and show a "checksum: fail" label at the start of the game. Arbitrary code should definitely still be runnable, I think.

I mean, we do have an implementable list of GoodROMs, right?
Top

 Top   Previous Topic   Next Topic


Register To Post