You are not logged in.
Lost Password?


Register To Post



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic

#381
Re: Insect Combat
Posted on: 2017/3/22 12:50
Nintendoid!
Joined 2006/3/15
Ecuador
234 Posts
PVBCC 3rdCoderLong Time User (13 Years)
Quote:

VirtualChris schrieb:
I increased the 2000 number to 3000. At first I thought it was broken because it didn't start, but it eventually started up and works great! I want to thank you tremendously for your help.


You're welcome, I'm glad it finally worked. :)
Top

#382
Re: Insect Combat
Posted on: 2017/3/24 1:27
PVB Elite
Joined 2008/4/26
USA
937 Posts
CoderContributorTop10 PosterHOTY09 3rdLong Time User (11 Years) PVBCC 2010 EntryPVBCC 2013 Entry
Turns out it didn't work after all. Should I try increasing it to 4,000?
Top

#383
Re: Insect Combat
Posted on: 2017/3/24 5:14
Nintendoid!
Joined 2006/3/15
Ecuador
234 Posts
PVBCC 3rdCoderLong Time User (13 Years)
Quote:

VirtualChris schrieb:
Turns out it didn't work after all. Should I try increasing it to 4,000?


I will have to make some tests to try to infer how big a value is needed to achieve the 200usec wait. In the meantime, you could give 0x4000 a go (or even 0x10000)

BTW: How quickly are you turning the VB on and off? I've noticed that our game doesn't work if I turn on and off the VR very fast. Although, I haven't checked if the problem happens with commercial games, will check it tomorrow.
Top

#384
Re: Insect Combat
Posted on: 2017/3/24 7:13
PVB Elite
Joined 2008/4/26
USA
937 Posts
CoderContributorTop10 PosterHOTY09 3rdLong Time User (11 Years) PVBCC 2010 EntryPVBCC 2013 Entry
I turn it off, then wait for about a second, then turn it back on again. One weird thing that was happening was some of the levels weren't showing on one screen. Another was one line of pixels of the PRESS START message was showing during the intro, just weird things were happening all around.
Top

#385
Re: Insect Combat
Posted on: 2017/3/24 21:44
Nintendoid!
Joined 2006/3/15
Ecuador
234 Posts
PVBCC 3rdCoderLong Time User (13 Years)
I did a quick, and not very scientific test, and 0x2000 should be enough to prevent the access to the work RAM before it stabilizes. Besides that, I wasn't able to reproduce a similar problem with our game by turning on and off the VB very quickly. So, my conclusion is that your problem is either related to the usage of local non-initialized variables or some other bug in your program. Sorry if that is not helpful enough.
Top

#386
Re: Insect Combat
Posted on: 2017/3/25 0:37
PVB Elite
Joined 2008/4/26
USA
937 Posts
CoderContributorTop10 PosterHOTY09 3rdLong Time User (11 Years) PVBCC 2010 EntryPVBCC 2013 Entry
I'm just going to give up on the whole thing. I can't fix it so the game displays the logo and ant on the intro screen. Here's what I've been doing:
>Starting the game. Everything goes as normal.
>Turn it off at the fighter select screen.
>Wait one second.
>Turn it back on.
>The ant does not display where it is supposed to be.
WHY?!
Top

#387
Re: Insect Combat
Posted on: 2017/3/25 13:53
Nintendoid!
Joined 2006/3/15
Ecuador
234 Posts
PVBCC 3rdCoderLong Time User (13 Years)
Quote:

VirtualChris schrieb:
I'm just going to give up on the whole thing. I can't fix it so the game displays the logo and ant on the intro screen. Here's what I've been doing:
>Starting the game. Everything goes as normal.
>Turn it off at the fighter select screen.
>Wait one second.
>Turn it back on.
>The ant does not display where it is supposed to be.
WHY?!


Could you send me a ROM? Maybe I'm not fully understanding the problem and seeing what is happening could help.
Top

#388
Re: Insect Combat
Posted on: 2017/3/26 0:39
PVB Elite
Joined 2008/4/26
USA
937 Posts
CoderContributorTop10 PosterHOTY09 3rdLong Time User (11 Years) PVBCC 2010 EntryPVBCC 2013 Entry
You can download the latest ROM here:
www.atari2600land.com/insecticide/ic20170324.vb
Top

#389
Re: Insect Combat
Posted on: 2017/3/27 17:11
Nintendoid!
Joined 2015/9/18
Canada
156 Posts
Collection Top10Long Time User (4 Years)
Quote:

VirtualChris wrote:
I'm just going to give up on the whole thing. I can't fix it so the game displays the logo and ant on the intro screen. Here's what I've been doing:
>Starting the game. Everything goes as normal.
>Turn it off at the fighter select screen.
>Wait one second.
>Turn it back on.
>The ant does not display where it is supposed to be.
WHY?!


Don't give up Chris! You're so close and this sounds like a problem that could be fixed. I wish I had any ground to stand on to say "it's easy!" but it's probably 10 leagues removed from my realm of understanding. I just really want to play the game :p
Top

#390
Re: Insect Combat
Posted on: 2017/3/28 22:07
Nintendoid!
Joined 2006/3/15
Ecuador
234 Posts
PVBCC 3rdCoderLong Time User (13 Years)
Quote:

VirtualChris schrieb:
You can download the latest ROM here:
www.atari2600land.com/insecticide/ic20170324.vb


Hey, I was finally able to test your game on the VB to try to reproduce the problem that you're experiencing. I was able to see it only by quickly turning on and off the VB while on the character selection screen, and I only noticed different behavior in the third screen.

Here are a couple of things that you may want to check:

1) Make sure that all variables in the problematic screen (where the ant passes by) are properly initialized.
2) Make sure that you are erasing all BGMAP and CHAR memory when entering that screen and before drawing anything to it.
3) Make sure that you are controlling properly the WORLD layers that each image is assigned. It is possible that the ant and the label are being rendered behind the background.
Top

 Top   Previous Topic   Next Topic


Register To Post