Register To Post

Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic

Red Square, a Yume Nikki Fan Game
Posted on: 6/29 6:16
VB Gamer
Joined 6/29
11 Posts
Hello!

Over the last 6 weeks I've been writing a Virtual Boy game for the 2019 Dream Diary Game Jam, along with my friend, Nyrator. The result is Red Square, a short Yume Nikki Fan Game.

http://slum.online/vb/

The game is written entirely in assembly. Nyrator handled graphics while I handled the programming. The game doesn't feature any sound, since I didn't have enough time to write an assembly sound driver. The source code is also available for free on the website, licensed under the Zlib license. The source obviously contains spoilers, so don't look into it if you're planning on playing first. (Some of the code is atrocious due to time constraints, but over all I'm fairly proud of it)

The game is fairly simple. You walk around dream worlds collecting different effects. Once you've collected them all you're able to play the ending. There's no saving, so either use save states or complete it in one play through. (It's really not too long)

Anyway, I thought I'd share, since it was suggested to me by a VB friend I know.
Edited by Kresna on 2019/6/29 6:34

Re: Red Square, a Yume Nikki Fan Game
Posted on: 6/29 9:41
Nintendoid!
Joined 2016/5/12
USA
136 Posts
Long Time User (3 Years)
Oh wow, very interested to see this in action. What motivated you to make it for the Virtual Boy?

Posted on: 6/29 20:40
PVB Elite
Joined 2013/6/17
Canada
1127 Posts
Top10 Poster10+ Game RatingsLong Time User (6 Years)
Very cool! Will be trying this on my VB for sure

Posted on: 6/29 22:39
VB Gamer
Joined 6/29
11 Posts
Quote:

Levine91 wrote:
What motivated you to make it for the Virtual Boy?

Initially it was a joke idea, but the more I thought about the VB the more I thought it would be a fun project. After talking to Nyrator about it over pizza we decided to go all in. It turned out that the hardware is really great to work with.