Register To Post



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic

#1
broken virtualboy (not display issue)
Posted on: 2012/9/12 17:06
VB Gamer
Joined 2012/9/12
Finland
16 Posts
Long Time User (2 Years)
Hi, found your community just a while ago when retro wind passed by and i bought a Virtual Boy.

issue is that i got it really cheap (20dollars) and of course it doesn't work
it powers on (displays moving and red powerled? inside) but no sound or video.

tested with 2 cartridges, opened virtual boy and cleaned cartridges pins with no result.
Top

#2
Re: broken virtualboy (not display issue)
Posted on: 2012/9/12 21:07
PVB Elite
Joined 2003/7/26
USA
1184 Posts
PVBCC EntryCoderContributorSpecial AchievementTop10 PosterHOTY09 EntryLong Time User (11 Years) App Coder20+ Game RatingsPVBCC 2013 Entry
I recently had issues with one not accepting the cart if it was pushed in too firmly. Try pushing the cart in with different amounts of force, or pushing it in and then pulling very slightly on it, before applying power.

If the voltage regulator lights and the mirrors vibrate, it has to be a cartridge or cart port issue (or dead display cables; see below).

BTW, what carts did you try? Some games take a few button pushes and some waiting before they make any sounds. If the displays are completely gone (as in: the cable no longer makes any contact), you may just not know it's running.

Hope that helps...
Top

#3
Re: broken virtualboy (not display issue)
Posted on: 2012/9/12 22:07
VB Gamer
Joined 2012/9/12
Finland
16 Posts
Long Time User (2 Years)
Mario tennis and Nesters funky bowling.

tried to push buttons and put electrid/contactor fluid in catirdges/pins but no results.
Top

#4
Re: broken virtualboy (not display issue)
Posted on: 2012/9/12 23:12
VB Gamer
Joined 2012/9/12
Finland
16 Posts
Long Time User (2 Years)
hmm i had a little break and now when i turn it on displays doesn't move anymore, only regulator led is on.

also processors and regulator doesn't warm up like before,
this is getting really strange. : S
Top

#5
Re: broken virtualboy (not display issue)
Posted on: 2012/9/13 4:11
VB Gamer
Joined 2012/9/12
Finland
16 Posts
Long Time User (2 Years)
i searched forum posts and found that oscillator may be broken

so i put 5 v in controller port and mirrors are moving again,

but what should i do next ?
Top

#6
Re: broken virtualboy (not display issue)
Posted on: 2012/9/13 5:29
PVB Elite
Joined 2003/7/26
USA
1184 Posts
PVBCC EntryCoderContributorSpecial AchievementTop10 PosterHOTY09 EntryLong Time User (11 Years) App Coder20+ Game RatingsPVBCC 2013 Entry
Top

#7
Re: broken virtualboy (not display issue)
Posted on: 2012/9/13 10:47
VB Gamer
Joined 2012/9/12
Finland
16 Posts
Long Time User (2 Years)
yep, i wired 5v trough the controller port so i can't use controller to press buttons , but picture isn,t coming either only popping sound and mirrors.

so i just have to search other faults like you said. better hope i find something.
Top

#8
Re: broken virtualboy (not display issue)
Posted on: 2012/9/13 18:54
VB Gamer
Joined 2012/9/12
Finland
16 Posts
Long Time User (2 Years)
made custom regulator (capacitor,9k resistor and regulator)

now the mirrors turn on
but soon after powering on the voltages and current slowly drops near zero. im losing my hope on this : s
Top

#9
Re: broken virtualboy (not display issue)
Posted on: 2012/9/14 2:56
PVB Elite
Joined 2003/7/26
USA
1184 Posts
PVBCC EntryCoderContributorSpecial AchievementTop10 PosterHOTY09 EntryLong Time User (11 Years) App Coder20+ Game RatingsPVBCC 2013 Entry
Quote:

virtualnoob wrote:
made custom regulator (capacitor,9k resistor and regulator)

now the mirrors turn on
but soon after powering on the voltages and current slowly drops near zero. im losing my hope on this : s


Don't give up! We'll find out what's wrong, eventually.

What are you powering the regulator with? Make sure it can supply enough current and that it meets your custom regulator's dropout voltage requirement (without exceeding it's maximum voltage, of course).
Top

#10
Re: broken virtualboy (not display issue)
Posted on: 2012/9/14 15:06
VB Gamer
Joined 2012/9/12
Finland
16 Posts
Long Time User (2 Years)
i use controller ac adaptor, and i have measured that works just fine. could it be my regulator thing ? (capacitor,regulator,resistor)
Top

 Top   Previous Topic   Next Topic


Register To Post

You are not logged in.
Lost Password?
Register Resend Activation