You are not logged in.
Lost Password?


Register To Post



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic

#1
hello guys kiosk question
Posted on: 1/8 2:59
Newbie
Joined 2016/11/26
6 Posts
first let me start by saying hello to everyone. been a long time collector of 12 years or better but just recently got into virtual boy though. well for Christmas I got an amazing gift from my girlfriend. a vb counter top kiosk, this thing is amazing! but of course, it worked perfect for an hour and now only half the eye is working on the left. my question is, we're the kiosk head sets special? I know this is a fairly easy fix, but for my curiosity I'm wondering if there is a difference between kiosk and other models. it had wario land locked in the back of it, the game literally appeared brand new and never changed, but was also not a resale game which I thought was odd.
Edited by lostwithin on 2017/1/8 3:22
Top

#2
Re: hello guys kiosk question
Posted on: 1/8 3:23
Newbie
Joined 2016/11/26
6 Posts
kiosk picture

Attach file:



jpg  20170107_205014.jpg (2,883.79 KB)
14246_5871a2b5cd7d6.jpg 4032X2268 px
Top

#3
Re: hello guys kiosk question
Posted on: 1/8 8:25
VUE(xpert)
Joined 2013/8/23
USA
293 Posts
Long Time User (3 Years)
First of all, she sounds like an awesome girlfriend! Does she have a sister? Haha...

Anyway, as far as I know the consoles are exactly the same whether retail or kiosk unit in origin. The 'Not for Resale' Wario cart sounds typical for a store display though.

If you want the displays fixed permanently, I am based in the USA and do the solder repairs here. TheForce81 is in Europe and could probably help you if you live closer to him.
Top

#4
Re: hello guys kiosk question
Posted on: 1/8 16:03
VB Gamer
Joined 2006/10/2
49 Posts
ContributorLong Time User (10 Years)
Nice item. Nice GF!

The retail VB units have a sticker (front, bottom right) with the 1-800 service center number, while the display units (most? all?) don't have it. Also, most (all?) of the display units have small screws holding the visor faceplate to the unit. Other than that, I'm not aware of any differences.

BTW: you may already know, but your unit is missing the promotional signs (printed on paper) that sat on each side - where the flat black pieces are. Those were covered by clear plastic sheets that snapped into place. (Can't tell if you have those or not.) If you can find someone with the same display, they may be willing to scan the signs, so you can print out your own copies.
Top

#5
Re: hello guys kiosk question
Posted on: 1/8 20:19
PVB Elite
Joined 2007/10/26
USA
733 Posts
Collection Top10 2ndContributorTop10 PosterLong Time User (9 Years) Donator
http://www.planetvb.com/modules/hardw ... ype=displays&model=dphase

That is some scans of the counter top display..might not QUITE fit, but you can print them so they can come close.

-Eric
Top

#6
Re: hello guys kiosk question
Posted on: 1/9 4:29
VB Gamer
Joined 2006/10/2
49 Posts
ContributorLong Time User (10 Years)
Those scans are from the floor model, and the countertop display. The "platform model" used ads of a different dimension. But as you note, they can probably be altered (digitally?) to fit. Quote:

bigmak wrote:
http://www.planetvb.com/modules/hardw ... ype=displays&model=dphase

That is some scans of the counter top display..might not QUITE fit, but you can print them so they can come close.

-Eric
Top

#7
Re: hello guys kiosk question
Posted on: 4/18 18:22
Newbie
Joined 4/18
USA
9 Posts
Hey guys. New to the page. Just picked myself up a countertop model of the VB kiosk. I've been looking through the site and there are some pics of the artwork but are there any individual pics of each artwork? They all seem to be in one picture. Any help would be appreciated.

Attach file:



png  IMG_2163.PNG (3,142.06 KB)
14361_58f63d18b63f6.png 1242X2208 px
Top

#8
Re: hello guys kiosk question
Posted on: 4/19 3:47
VB Gamer
Joined 2006/10/2
49 Posts
ContributorLong Time User (10 Years)
I have a bunch of the US and Japanese ads that go in these displays. Been meaning to try to get them scanned, so I can share them with the group, but I don't have a clue how to get something this large scanned, and it really needs to be a flatbed - don't want to risk having them damaged by a scanner feeder. Anyone in the DC area have a clue where to get them scanned?
Top

#9
Re: hello guys kiosk question
Posted on: 4/19 4:24
PVB Elite
Joined 2011/4/27
USA
1916 Posts
Highscore Top10 1stHighscore Top ScoreHighscore Top ScoreHighscore Top ScoreHighscore Top ScoreHighscore Top ScoreHighscore Top ScoreHighscore Top ScoreHighscore Top ScoreHighscore Top ScoreHighscore Top ScoreHighscore Top ScoreHighscore Top ScoreHighscore Top ScoreHighscore Top ScoreHighscore Top ScoreHighscore Top ScoreHighscore Top ScoreHighscore Top ScoreHighscore Top ScoreHighscore Top ScoreHighscore Top ScoreHighscore Top ScoreHighscore Top ScoreHighscore Top ScoreHighscore Top ScoreHighscore Top ScoreHighscore Top ScoreCollection Top10Contributor#2 PosterLong Time User (6 Years) 30+ Game Ratings
I've heard that just about any Staples store should have a large flatbed scanner, which can be used for scanning and which shouldn't cost a whole lot, but I've never actually tried to scan anything large there myself.
Top

#10
Re: hello guys kiosk question
Posted on: 4/19 5:52
Newbie
Joined 2014/5/11
3 Posts
Long Time User (3 Years)
I have a countertop unit with the displays in storage. It might take me some time to get to them but I can scan them for yall.

BTW: They made new replacement soft visors last year that should be easy to fix. I picked up a replacement at a gamestore in Manhattan for $15
Top

 Top   Previous Topic   Next Topic


Register To Post