Register To Post



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic

#1
MPO from my 3DS?
Posted on: 2011/6/12 21:42
VUE(xpert)
Joined 2008/11/10
Great Britain
460 Posts
ContributorLong Time User (5 Years)
just a test to see if uploading from 3ds to here works. a photo of our garden ornament.


edit: it seems not viewable in 3D, unless i have not uploaded correctly, i'll check later, need to feed my cat.

Attach file:



jpg  HNI_0007_MPO.JPG (150.06 KB)
892_4df516a382f7f.jpg 640X480 px
Top

#2
Re: MPO from my 3DS?
Posted on: 2011/6/13 6:00
PVB Elite
Joined 2010/2/19
USA
559 Posts
ContributorTop10 PosterLong Time User (4 Years) Top Donator: 2nd20+ Game Ratings
Cool, please do let us know if you can get it to work on PVB. I know you can upload MPO files direct from the 3DS. Maybe if KR155E can figure how to implement that feature to Planet3DS (if he already hasn't?) he can also update this site as well.

Why did your file come up as a Jpeg? Is that what happens when you attach an MPO file here?
Top

#3
Re: MPO from my 3DS?
Posted on: 2011/6/13 16:28
VUE(xpert)
Joined 2008/11/10
Great Britain
460 Posts
ContributorLong Time User (5 Years)
Quote:

VirtualJockey wrote:
Cool, please do let us know if you can get it to work on PVB. I know you can upload MPO files direct from the 3DS. Maybe if KR155E can figure how to implement that feature to Planet3DS (if he already hasn't?) he can also update this site as well.

Why did your file come up as a Jpeg? Is that what happens when you attach an MPO file here?


That would be cool if its something Chris needs to do and can do, but i have not managed to check doing it again on my 3DS.
As far as why a jpeg, thats just what it did when i tried, there could be an option to do the mpo not jpg, I will check again.
I hope it does work in the future cos really i only want to share & show photos with/to fellow VB freaks.
Top

#4
Re: MPO from my 3DS?
Posted on: 2011/6/13 17:36
VUE(xpert)
Joined 2008/11/10
Great Britain
460 Posts
ContributorLong Time User (5 Years)
another try......

nope still just jpg, no option to choose mpo, not sure if a 3ds thing or pvb.

Attach file:



jpg  HNI_0007_MPO.JPG (150.06 KB)
892_4df62e691c027.jpg 640X480 px
Top

#5
Re: MPO from my 3DS?
Posted on: 2011/6/13 21:15
Administrator
Joined 2000/1/8
Germany
2216 Posts
Highscore Top10Highscore Top ScoreCoder#1 PosterHOTY09 1stLong Time User (14 Years) 90+ Game Ratings
It's not a PVB issue. It's the 3DS, which sends only the automatically generated preview JPGs, instead of the actual stereoscopic MPO file.

I tried copying both the JPG and MPO to my computer and attaching them from there. Unfortunately, I can't open the MPO from the 3DS.

Hopefully I can figure it out, because it would be great if we could exchange stereo images on here and especially Planet 3DS. Plus it would be great to be able to show 3D screenshots on Planet 3DS if viewed on a 3DS, via the MPO format.

Attach file:



jpg  HNI_0050.JPG (19.03 KB)
1_4df661d4e6dc7.jpg 400X240 px
mpo HNI_0050.MPO Size: 38.61 KB; Hits: 68
Top

#6
Re: MPO from my 3DS?
Posted on: 2011/6/14 0:22
PVB Elite
Joined 2010/2/19
USA
559 Posts
ContributorTop10 PosterLong Time User (4 Years) Top Donator: 2nd20+ Game Ratings
Quote:

KR155E wrote:
It's not a PVB issue. It's the 3DS, which sends only the automatically generated preview JPGs, instead of the actual stereoscopic MPO file.

I tried copying both the JPG and MPO to my computer and attaching them from there. Unfortunately, I can't open the MPO from the 3DS.

Hopefully I can figure it out, because it would be great if we could exchange stereo images on here and especially Planet 3DS. Plus it would be great to be able to show 3D screenshots on Planet 3DS if viewed on a 3DS, via the MPO format.


Darn, you're absolutely correct that 3DS can only upload the MPO.JPG preview. Bummer. My buddy said he could upload his MPO pictures, and I just assumed he meant in full MPO format.

Hopefully Nintendo will address this in a future update.
Top

#7
Re: MPO from my 3DS?
Posted on: 2011/6/14 9:12
PVB Elite
Joined 2003/7/26
USA
1117 Posts
PVBCC EntryCoderContributorSpecial AchievementTop10 PosterHOTY09 EntryLong Time User (10 Years) App Coder20+ Game RatingsPVBCC 2013 Entry
Quote:

KR155E wrote:
...

I tried copying both the JPG and MPO to my computer and attaching them from there. Unfortunately, I can't open the MPO from the 3DS.

...


You can open an .MPO files with "Stereo Photo Maker", view them using many stereo techniques, and save in many different stereo/file formats (i.e. cross-eye vs. anaglyph and JPEG vs. PNG, etc.).

You can even losslessly batch extract the JPEGs from multiple .MPOs. I attached the JPEGs from your puppy picture. Now you just need some PHP code to do the conversion/splitting on the server. Fortunately, the format is pretty simple.

EDIT: This snippet of PHP code might be relevant.

Attach file:



jpg  HNI_0050_r.jpg (19.33 KB)
11_4df70933c7038.jpg 400X240 px

jpg  HNI_0050_l.jpg (19.03 KB)
11_4df7094063a0c.jpg 400X240 px
Edited by RunnerPack on 2011/6/14 9:27
Edited by RunnerPack on 2011/6/14 9:31
Top

#8
Re: MPO from my 3DS?
Posted on: 2011/6/14 10:38
VUE(xpert)
Joined 2008/11/10
Great Britain
460 Posts
ContributorLong Time User (5 Years)
It is a shame we can't see the mpo while browsing with our 3DS, but it could be to do with the specific site as I have checked out 3Dporch.com and that does allow the viewing of an mpo directly as you browse, tap the link and it then opens the image on the top screen in glorious 3D, but only if its not too big resolution.
I have not uploaded anything to 3Dporch so i don't know if the 3DS only uploads the jpg, but you can def view their library of mpo's in 3D, with limitations.
Top

#9
Re: MPO from my 3DS?
Posted on: 2011/6/14 20:16
Administrator
Joined 2000/1/8
Germany
2216 Posts
Highscore Top10Highscore Top ScoreCoder#1 PosterHOTY09 1stLong Time User (14 Years) 90+ Game Ratings
Download on this forum are handed over by a PHP script, so this is probably why we can't view the MPO files directly. This is nothing I could change unfortunately. :-/

@RunnerPack: Interesting, thanks for the info! Looks I can use MPOs then. I only need a little script that splits them on the fly and hands the separate JPEGs over to the stereoscope applet in the desktop version of Planet 3DS, while the MPOs are shown directly in the mobile version of the site, when viewed on a 3DS. :-)

I need to experiment with the 3DS browser anyway, have a few ideas I'd like to give a try, like an online Virtual Console. But since the 3DS browser neither supports Flash, nor Java, the only option would a JavaScript-based emulator, which should be horribly slow. :-D
Top

#10
Re: MPO from my 3DS?
Posted on: 2012/3/26 20:33
Virtual Freak
Joined 2011/9/12
Greece
69 Posts
Long Time User (2 Years) Donator90+ Game Ratings
Try to upload here :

http://3dporch.com/

There is also a very nice prog. to edit .jpg to .mpo files.
http://stereo.jpn.org/eng/stphmkr/
Top

 Top   Previous Topic   Next Topic


Register To Post

You are not logged in.
Lost Password?
Register Resend Activation